top of page

To Brazil (5)

How crooked can a bus be? Never before had that question occurred to me, but now that I was on a bus right through the jungle... and the bus went so crooked that gravity was defied.... Creeps how far are we from the tipping point.....??

I got the urge to gather all the people on my side... but they sat quietly in their seats with their eyes closed.... sleeping or praying? Slowly I realized that the driver just knew what he was doing.


You shouldn't be in a hurry in the jungle. Shaking, swinging and like an accomplished skier on the slalom we shot up very slowly. The trip was extended by a few hours, due to a flat tire. You'll just be a bus driver.

Fortunately, he had brought a change with him.... and a new band. These are two travel days in a row... Sorry, no real missionary stories about meetings and stuff... but this is also really a piece of missionary life.


At the moment I'm at the airport of Manaus.... large, 3 floors.... but above all nothing to do. It's still early and my 9 hour wait is far from over. What is a great blessing and we did not have in our old days is WiFi..... so I'm just bothering you with a blog. The good news is that I expect to arrive in Rio on Saturday morning and then in the evening I can embrace Jennie and Jamie.


Just a few more pictures!!

Greetings!


Jaap.





All blogs
bottom of page